Independent research only · Not affiliated with any government, bank, or auction agency · Register, pay, and bid on the official source directly.

Bank auction guide

Bank auction property in India:
risks, costs and checks

Bank auction property in India, plainly explained: possession, unpaid dues, tenants, title, loans, TDS and stamp duty, and what to check before bidding.

Bank auctions open now

All bank auctions

960 properties in 23 states, from 64 lenders, on the listing platforms BiddingPulse reads (last read 28 Oct 2026). Not every bank lists there. 163 of the 960 have been listed before in BiddingPulse’s records, and 137 of those now ask a lower reserve.

The short version

General information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Each sale runs on its own sale notice; read it in full, and have a lawyer check the title before you pay the EMD.

On this page20 sections

What a bank auction is

A bank auction property is a home, plot, shop or other building that a bank, housing-finance company, non‑banking lender or asset reconstruction company is selling because the borrower stopped repaying a loan it secured. Most of these sales (a bank nilami, in Hindi listings) run under the SARFAESI Act, 2002, which lets a secured lender take and sell its security without going to court. An officer the lender authorises, not below a chief manager in a public sector bank, runs the sale. — per sections 13(1) and 13(12) of the Securitisation and Reconstruction of Financial Assets and Enforcement of Security Interest Act, 2002 (the SARFAESI Act) and Rule 2(a) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

The road to an auction is set out in the Act. Once the lender classifies the loan as a non-performing asset, it sends a demand notice giving the borrower 60 days to pay in full, and it must answer any objection within 15 days. If the borrower still has not paid, the lender can take possession of the property and sell it. — per sections 13(2), 13(3A) and 13(4) of the SARFAESI Act.

Not every lender’s auction is a SARFAESI sale. A Debts Recovery Tribunal’s recovery officer sells property to carry out a tribunal’s recovery certificate, and a liquidator sells an insolvent company’s assets under the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code; each follows its own rules. SARFAESI also does not reach agricultural land, a loan of ₹1 lakh or less, or a case where less than 20% of the principal and interest is still due. Each BiddingPulse bank listing says which law its sale runs under. — per section 31(h), (i) and (j) of the SARFAESI Act.

The road to a bank auction
  1. The loan turns bad

    The lender classifies it as a non‑performing asset.

  2. Demand notice

    The borrower is given 60 days to pay in full.

    Time to the next stage: 60 days, at least

  3. Possession notice

    Put up on the property and published in two newspapers.

  4. Valuation

    An approved valuer values the property, and the reserve price is fixed from it.

  5. Sale notice

    Served, published, and put up on the property and the lender’s website.

    Time to the next stage: 30 days, at least

  6. E‑auction

    The highest bid is taken, subject to the bank’s confirmation.

  7. Payment and certificate

    25% by the next working day; the balance within 15 days of the bank confirming the sale; then the sale certificate.

Restated from section 13 of the SARFAESI Act and Rules 8 and 9 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002. A repeat sale needs at least 15 days’ notice.

Price, competition and repeat auctions

There is no built‑in bargain. The reserve price is normally the lowest bid the bank will accept, fixed from a valuation by an approved valuer before the sale. It is not a statement of what the property is worth, and competing bidders can take the price up to, or past, what the same home would fetch in an ordinary sale. — per Rules 8(5) and 9(2) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

BiddingPulse has found no official data on how far below market value bank auction properties sell, and no published dataset behind the “20–⁠30% cheaper” figures that circulate online. The fair comparison is the total cost: the price, plus stamp duty and registration, any dues that pass to you, repairs, and the months a property can take to become usable.

Many auctions end without a sale. Between 1 July 2024, when most public sector banks began using BAANKNET, and 10 June 2025, 1,24,798 auctions were held on it and 18,361 of them, about 15%, were successful. — per Business Standard’s report of 26 July 2025 (a news report, not an official publication; the report does not name the source of its counts).

When an auction fails, the lender can offer the property again on a shorter notice of at least 15 days, and the new round often comes at a lower reserve. No rule fixes the size of the cut: the lender sets each reserve afresh. The rules allow the 15‑day notice only for a repeat sale, so a notice headed “15 days” often means the property has been offered before; ask the bank how many times, and at what reserves. BiddingPulse’s bank listings show any earlier listing of the same property that it has recorded, and the reserve asked then. — per Rules 8(5) and 9(1) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Some sales come years after the lender took possession: one sale notice for land and a building in Tamil Nadu recorded a possession notice almost 17 years before the auction. A long gap between possession and sale is a reason to ask the lender why, and whether the property has been offered before. — per HUDCO’s sale notice for its 28 August 2026 auction.

Where bank auctions are published

A SARFAESI sale notice has to reach the public in several ways at once: served on the borrower, published in two newspapers, one of them in the local language, put up on the property, and uploaded with the full terms to the lender’s website. — per Rules 8(6) and 8(7) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Public sector banks list and run their property auctions on BAANKNET, formally launched on 3 January 2025 and owned and run by PSB Alliance, a company the public sector banks own jointly; liquidators of insolvent companies sell there too. It replaced MSTC’s e‑Bikray portal for bank property auctions. — per the Press Information Bureau release of 24 March 2025, IBBI’s FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (21 July 2025) and MSTC’s e‑Bikray page.

Private banks, housing-finance companies, non‑banking lenders and asset reconstruction companies publish their notices on their own websites, and usually hold the e‑auction on a service provider’s platform that the notice names, such as bankeauctions.com, run by C1 India. — per sale notices of IndusInd Bank (14.09.2026), India SME Asset Reconstruction Company (18.01.2026) and HUDCO (28.08.2026 auction).

BiddingPulse’s bank auction lists read some of these platforms, not all of them, so a missing listing does not mean no sale exists. Each listing page links the property’s listing on the auction platform; check it against the sale notice on the lender’s own website.

Pay only where the official notice says: into your own wallet on BAANKNET, or into the account or demand‑draft payee the notice prints, from your own bank account. One bank’s terms warn that EMD paid “by any other mode such as Cheques will not be accepted”. Take the authorised officer’s name and number from the notice on the lender’s own website, not from a caller or an agent. — per the sale terms of State Bank of India and Central Bank of India for 2026 auctions, and IBBI’s FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (21 July 2025).

Reading the sale notice: the lines that matter

The sale notice and its terms govern the sale. The rules require it to describe the property, state the secured debt and the reserve price, give the time and place of the sale, and disclose any encumbrance the lender knows of. The clauses below recur in almost every notice, in close to the same words. — per Rule 8(7) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Sale-notice clauses and what they mean for a bidder
ClauseTypical wordingWhat it means
As is where is“As is where is, as is what is & whatever there is”, sometimes with “no recourse”You take the property as it stands, with its occupants and dues, and have no claim against the bank later.
Encumbrances“To the best of knowledge” none, yet sold “with all the existing and future encumbrances whether known or unknown”The bank discloses only what it knows. Your own title, encumbrance and CERSAI searches fill the gap.
DuesStatutory and other dues are the “sole responsibility of successful bidder”Unpaid tax, power, water and society bills can become yours.
Possession“Symbolic” or “physical” possession under section 13(4)Symbolic means someone may still live there. Some notices leave it blank: ask.
InspectionOne date or a short window, often “by prior appointment”It may be your only look inside. Some banks show the title deeds the same day.
Pending casesA borrower’s application against the sale pending before the Debts Recovery TribunalThe sale can be held up or undone, and some banks will not issue the sale certificate while a stay is in force.
Confirmation“The E‑Auction sale is subject to confirmation by the secured creditor/Bank”The highest bid is not a sale until the bank confirms it.
CancellationThe right to adjourn, postpone or cancel the auction “without assigning any reason”The auction can be called off after you have done your checks. The EMD comes back, without interest.
Payment25% on the sale day or the next working day, the balance within 15 days of confirmation, forfeiture on defaultThe deadlines come from the rules. Pay late and you can lose the sale and the money paid.
Taxes and dutiesTDS at 1% under section 194‑IA; stamp duty and registration on the bidderSection 194‑IA became section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, for an owner resident in India; a non‑resident owner’s sale falls under section 393(2). The costs are yours either way.

Wording from sale notices of State Bank of India, Central Bank of India, IndusInd Bank, Axis Bank, HDFC Bank, ISARC and Gujarat Gramin Bank; words in quotation marks are quoted from them, the rest is summarised. Every notice is different: read the one for the property.

Notices can contain mistakes, such as a blank date or an inspection window that ends before it begins. Confirm every date, amount and condition with the authorised officer in writing before you pay the EMD.

“As is where is”: what the bank does not promise

Almost every bank sale notice BiddingPulse has read sells the property “as is where is”, usually with “as is what is” and “whatever there is” added, sometimes also “no recourse”. One sells “without recourse” and “without any kind of warranties and indemnities” instead. Either way, the buyer takes the property in whatever physical and legal state it is in, and cannot come back to the bank for a defect, an occupant or a debt found later. — per sale notices of State Bank of India (18.05.2026), Axis Bank (09.06.2026, Bengaluru), ISARC (18.01.2026) and Gujarat Gramin Bank (09.06.2026).

The clause has a limit. In one case, the Delhi High Court held that it “cannot be used as a shield to conceal the hidden charges which are in the knowledge of the auction seller”, and ordered the bank to pay the leasehold authority’s unearned-increase charge on plots it had sold at auction, a charge the buyer’s letter to the bank, quoting the authority, put at about ₹2.25 crore. The buyer had waited about 16 years for the plots to be conveyed. — per the Delhi High Court’s judgment of 8 September 2026 in W.P.⁠(C) 10860/2017.

So the useful question is what the bank knows. Ask the authorised officer in writing which dues, occupants, cases and charges the bank is aware of, and keep the reply.

Symbolic or physical possession

The sale notice says which kind of possession the bank holds, and few lines matter more. Symbolic possession means the bank has taken possession on paper: it has put up a possession notice on the property and published it in newspapers, while the borrower, family or a tenant may still be living there. Physical possession means the bank actually holds the property. — per section 13(4) of the SARFAESI Act and Rule 8 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

To move an occupant out, the bank applies to the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate or the District Magistrate, who is to pass an order within 30 days, or within 60 days in all with reasons recorded. In practice it can take longer: one bank’s sale notice recorded physical possession about seven months after symbolic possession. — per section 14 of the SARFAESI Act and an Axis Bank sale notice dated 09.06.2026 (Bengaluru).

Neither word is in the Act: they are the terms banks and courts use. The Supreme Court has held symbolic possession lawful, and that a lender which sold with only symbolic possession can still go to the magistrate to take actual possession for the buyer; the rules put delivery on its authorised officer. So the buyer waits while the bank completes that route after the sale, and nothing fixes a date for the handover. In that case the court gave the borrower six months to hand the property over. — per the Supreme Court in ITC Ltd. v. Blue Coast Hotels Ltd., 19 March 2018, (2018) 15 SCC 99, and Rule 9(9) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Two kinds of possession, two roads to the keys

Symbolic possession

  1. Possession notice put up and published
  2. The borrower, family or a tenant may still be inside
  3. The sale completes
  4. The bank can apply to the magistrate under section 14 (a wait)
  5. An order is due in 30 days, or 60 with reasons; it can take longer (a wait)
  6. The keys

Physical possession

  1. The bank holds the property
  2. Inspection on the date in the sale notice
  3. The sale completes
  4. The keys

Restated from sections 13(4), 14 and 17(4A) of the SARFAESI Act and Rule 9(9) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002. No rule fixes a date for the handover, and a tenant with a valid lease may be able to stay: see Occupants and tenants.

Symbolic and physical possession compared
QuestionSymbolic possessionPhysical possession
Who is insideOften the borrower, family or a tenantUsually no one: the bank holds the property
What the bank has donePut up and published a possession noticeTaken the property over, sometimes through a magistrate’s order
InspectionOnly if the occupant lets you inOn the date or window in the notice
The keysAfter the bank finishes the magistrate route, with no fixed end dateHanded over after the sale is complete
What to ask the bankWho lives there, on what basis, and whether it has applied for a magistrate’s orderWhether anyone claims a right to occupy, and the condition inside

From section 13(4) and section 14 of the SARFAESI Act and Rule 8 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Occupants and tenants

An occupant is not always removable. Anyone affected by the bank’s possession, a tenant included, can apply to the Debts Recovery Tribunal, and the tribunal can examine whether a claimed tenancy has expired, breaks section 65A of the Transfer of Property Act or the mortgage terms, or was created after the bank’s demand notice. — per sections 17(1) and 17(4A) of the SARFAESI Act.

For a bidder this means time and uncertainty. An occupied property may not be open for inspection, and a tenant’s claim before the tribunal can keep the keys out of reach for months.

The paperwork matters. The law requires a lease of more than a year to be registered, so ask whether the occupant has a registered lease, and when the tenancy began compared with the mortgage and the bank’s demand notice. — per section 17(1)(d) of the Registration Act, 1908 and section 17(4A) of the SARFAESI Act.

Dues that can pass to the new owner

Sale notices put a previous owner’s unpaid bills on the buyer. One bank’s notice makes “all statutory / non‑statutory dues, taxes, GST, rates, assessments, charges, fees etc., owing to anybody” the “sole responsibility of successful bidder only”; another lender’s puts “pending dues of any Development Authority” on the buyer. — per State Bank of India’s sale notice dated 18.05.2026 and Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company’s sale notice dated 02.04.2026 (Mumbai).

Some dues follow the property itself. The Supreme Court has held that an electricity utility can make an auction buyer clear a previous owner’s arrears before it supplies the property, where its supply code provides for it. — per the Supreme Court’s judgment of 19 May 2023 on electricity arrears after auction sales.

Dues that can follow the property, and who can certify them
DueWhat notices and courts sayWhere to get a written figure
ElectricityA utility can insist on the previous owner’s arrears before supplying a new owner, where its supply code allows itThe local distribution company
Property taxNotices put arrears on the buyerThe municipal tax office
Water and sewerageNotices say the bank is not responsible for themThe water utility
Society maintenanceNotices leave the buyer to find out what is unpaidThe housing society, as a no‑dues letter
Leasehold chargesA lessor such as a development authority can demand transfer or unearned‑increase charges before it transfers the leaseThe lessor authority, in writing

From the sale notices and judgments cited above. In one case, the Delhi High Court held that “as is where is” cannot shield a lender from a charge it knew of and did not disclose, but that case took almost nine years.

Tax and provident fund dues are less settled. The Act ranks a lender with a registered security interest ahead of government dues, and the Bombay High Court has held that a state’s VAT dues cannot be recovered from an auction buyer. But the Supreme Court has held that a statutory “first charge” for provident fund dues ranks ahead of the lender. Where the borrower was a business, ask the bank in writing about tax and provident fund dues on the property. — per section 26E of the SARFAESI Act, the Bombay High Court’s judgment of 21 March 2024 in WP No. 11733 of 2023, and the Supreme Court’s judgment of 20 November 2025 (2025 INSC 1335).

The bank sells the borrower’s interest in the property, not a guarantee of it. Notices sell “without any kind of warranties and indemnities” and leave the title enquiries to the bidder. — per Gujarat Gramin Bank’s sale notice dated 09.06.2026 and Central Bank of India’s sale terms for its 20 July 2026 auction.

The usual checks, made by a lawyer before the EMD: the chain of title deeds the bank holds, which some notices offer for inspection; an encumbrance certificate from the state registration department; a search of CERSAI, the central register of lenders’ security interests, for other lenders’ charges (the Act opens it to anyone, for a fee); a search of court and Debts Recovery Tribunal cases; and, for a flat, the building approvals, occupancy certificate and society records. — per State Bank of India’s sale notice dated 15.08.2026, section 26 of the SARFAESI Act and the eCourts case‑status services.

An encumbrance certificate shows registered documents only. It will not show an unregistered agreement, a tenancy, a family dispute or unpaid society dues, which is why the other checks matter.

Ask, too, whether any authority has attached the property. The Supreme Court has held that a lender’s priority does not override an attachment under Maharashtra’s depositor-protection law, and an Enforcement Directorate letter once held up a buyer’s registration until the Karnataka High Court ordered it. — per the Supreme Court in National Spot Exchange Ltd. v. Union of India, 15 May 2025 (2025 INSC 694), and the Karnataka High Court’s judgment of 19 July 2024 in WP No. 10383 of 2024.

Undisclosed litigation can sink a sale long after the auction. A Madras High Court ruling, as reported, ordered a bank to refund a buyer who held a sale certificate but could not register it, because of a title suit the bank had appeared in and had not disclosed in its sale notice. — per the Madras High Court’s ruling reported as [2026] 186 taxmann.com 144 (Taxmann, 17 May 2026).

Can the sale be stopped or undone?

Before the sale, the borrower can stop it by paying everything owed with costs. Since 2016 that right ends when the sale notice is published, and the Supreme Court has read publication as complete only when the notice’s 30‑day period has run, counted from the last of the ways it had to be given. So an auction can be called off close to its date, and the bank can also postpone or cancel it without giving reasons. — per section 13(8) of the SARFAESI Act and the Supreme Court’s judgment of 22 September 2025 in Civil Appeal No. 12174 of 2025 (2025 INSC 1144).

After the sale, anyone affected, the borrower or a tenant included, can apply to the Debts Recovery Tribunal within 45 days of the bank’s action. The tribunal can declare the bank’s steps invalid and restore the property; it is to decide within 60 days, extendable to four months, and its order can be appealed to the appellate tribunal within 30 days. — per sections 17 and 18 of the SARFAESI Act.

Courts have undone sales that broke the sale rules, sometimes years later. The Supreme Court has upheld the setting aside of a sale because the borrower had not been given the 30‑day notice, and has quashed a sale because the balance had been paid late without a written extension. It has also set aside a sale because the bank had received bids while an appellate tribunal’s restraint order was in force. The restraint was lifted six days before the bids were opened, but that did not cure the breach; the sale also came before the 30‑day notice period had run, once the time under the order was counted out, and the borrower was not told when the bids would be opened. A restraint that has ended does not make a sale safe if the bank took steps while it was in force. — per the Supreme Court’s judgments of 18 April 2024 (on SLP(C) No. 24155 of 2018), 9 June 2026 (2026 INSC 633) and 30 September 2026 (2026 INSC 1071).

In the first of those cases the buyers got their money back, not the property, with 12% a year compound interest from the date they paid; in the second, the buyer got a refund with interest about 16 years after the auction. No rule fixes the refund or the interest. A sale that is confirmed and paid in full on time is far harder to disturb: confirmation gives the successful bidder a vested right to the sale certificate. — per the Supreme Court’s judgments of 18 April 2024 and 9 June 2026 (2026 INSC 633), and Celir LLP v. Bafna Motors (Mumbai) Pvt. Ltd., 21 September 2023 (2023 INSC 838), para 110.2.

When a sale can still be stopped or undone
  • The borrower can pay everything owed and stop the sale

    Until the sale notice’s 30‑day period has run

  • The bank can call off the auction, or decline to confirm the highest bid

    Until the bank confirms the sale

  • Anyone affected can apply to the Debts Recovery Tribunal

    Within 45 days of the step they challenge, from taking possession to the sale certificate

  • A tribunal or court can set aside a sale that broke a mandatory rule

    Courts have undone sales years after the auction

From sections 13(8), 17 and 18 of the SARFAESI Act, the sale notices cited above, and the Supreme Court’s judgments of 22 September 2025 (2025 INSC 1144), 9 June 2026 (2026 INSC 633) and 30 September 2026 (2026 INSC 1071). Not to scale.

The borrower’s right to pay and keep the property
QuestionBefore 1 September 2016From 1 September 2016
What section 13(8) saysPayment “at any time before the date fixed for sale or transfer”Payment “before the date of publication of notice for public auction”
How the Supreme Court reads itThe right lasted until the sale was completedThe right ends once the sale notice has been given in every required way and its 30‑day period has run
Loans taken before the changeThe old wording, where the sale notice came before 1 September 2016The new wording, where the claim was alive on 1 September 2016 and the sale notice came after it

From section 13(8) of the SARFAESI Act, before and after the 2016 amendment, and the Supreme Court’s judgments of 21 September 2023 (2023 INSC 838) and 22 September 2025 (2025 INSC 1144).

The payment timeline: EMD, 25% and the balance

The rules fix the money timeline after the bid, and a balance paid late without a written extension can void the sale years later. These are the SARFAESI rules: a Debts Recovery Tribunal’s recovery sale follows its own procedure, so take its deadlines from that sale’s notice. — per Rules 9(3) to 9(5) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002, the Supreme Court’s judgment of 9 June 2026 in Civil Appeal No. 1606 of 2026 (2026 INSC 633) and section 29 of the Recovery of Debts and Bankruptcy Act, 1993.

The payment clock after a winning bid
  1. EMD

    Before the auction

    The deposit the sale notice sets, usually 10% of the reserve.

  2. 25%

    Sale day

    Of the price, counting the EMD, on the day or by the next working day.

  3. Confirmation

    The bank confirms the sale to the highest bidder.

    Time to the next stage: 15 days

  4. 75%

    The balance

    Within 15 days of confirmation, or up to three months if the bank agrees in writing.

  5. Sale certificate

    Issued once the full price is paid.

Restated from Rule 9 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and the sale notices cited above. Miss the 25% and the property is sold again, and notices forfeit the EMD; miss the balance and the deposit is forfeited and the property is sold again.

The bank auction payment timeline
StageWhenIf it is missed
EMDBefore the deadline in the sale notice; usually 10% of the reserveYou cannot bid
25% of the priceOn the day of the sale or the next working day, counting the EMDThe property is sold again, and notices forfeit the EMD
ConfirmationThe bank confirms the sale to the highest bidderThere is no sale until it does
The balanceWithin 15 days of confirmation, or a later date the bank agrees in writing, never beyond three monthsThe money paid is forfeited and the property is sold again
Sale certificateAfter the full price is paidSome banks hold it until you show the TDS paid

From Rule 9 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002. Each notice sets its own EMD; the notices cited in this guide that state one set it at 10% of the reserve.

If a loan or a sale of other assets will take longer than 15 days, get the extension in writing before the 15 days run out. Losing bidders get the EMD back without interest, on the notice’s terms: one notice says the third working day after the auction, another within seven working days, and many give no date. On BAANKNET it returns to the bidder’s wallet on the portal. — per Gujarat Gramin Bank’s sale notice dated 09.06.2026, Axis Bank’s sale notice dated 09.06.2026 (Bengaluru) and IBBI’s FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (21 July 2025).

Loans for a bank auction property

Lenders do finance bank auction properties, but the timeline is the difficulty. The EMD and the 25% deposit fall due before any loan could be paid out against a confirmed sale, so they normally come from your own money, and the loan then has to be sanctioned and paid out within the 15‑day balance window unless the bank agrees in writing to more time. — per Rules 9(3) and 9(4) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and Kotak Mahindra Bank’s explainer on home loans for auctioned property (June 2026).

A home‑loan lender makes its own title and valuation checks, which take time. A bank also lends no more than the Reserve Bank’s loan-to-value limits allow: 90% of the property’s cost on a loan of up to ₹30 lakh, 80% on a loan of up to ₹75 lakh, and 75% on a larger one. Stamp duty and registration are left out of that cost unless the home costs ₹10 lakh or less, so plan to pay them yourself. — per the Reserve Bank of India (Commercial Banks – Credit Facilities) Directions, 2025.

If the loan is refused or late, the forfeiture rule still applies. The usual safeguards are an in‑principle sanction and the lender’s title view before bidding, and a written answer from the authorised officer on whether more time is possible.

Costs beyond the bid

The bid is the start of the cost, not the whole of it. Sale notices put stamp duty and registration on the buyer, some “including those of sale certificate”. — per Central Bank of India’s sale terms for its 20 July 2026 auction and IndusInd Bank’s sale notice dated 14.09.2026.

Where the money goes on a ₹50 lakh price

The price

₹50,00,000

Paid to the bank · 99%
₹49,50,000
TDS for an owner resident in India, paid to the government · 1%
₹50,000

On top of the price

Stamp duty and registration on the certificate, when they fall due (Delhi, 7%)
₹3,50,000
The previous owner’s unpaid dues
What the utilities, municipality and society certify
A lawyer’s title search
The lawyer’s fee
Interest on ₹50 lakh at 8.5% a year while the property is not usable
About ₹35,000 a month

An illustration, not a quote: a price at or above the property’s stamp‑duty value, an owner resident in India, and the Delhi Revenue Department’s rates for a man (6% stamp duty and 1% registration). TDS comes out of the price; everything else comes on top. When duty falls due on a sale certificate depends on how it is used: see below. The interest is BiddingPulse’s arithmetic at an assumed 8.5% a year; rates and fees change. Your figures depend on the state, the property and the sale notice.

Costs on top of the bid
CostHow muchNotes
Stamp duty and registrationYour state’s rates; in Delhi, 6% stamp duty (4% for a woman) and 1% registrationWhen duty falls due on a sale certificate depends on how it is used; see below
TDSFor an owner resident in India, 1% of the price or the stamp‑duty value, whichever is higher, unless both are under ₹50 lakh; for a non‑resident owner, other rulesDeducted by the buyer from the price and paid to the government with Form 141; ask the bank whether the owner is resident
Previous owner’s duesWhatever the utilities, municipality and society certifyCan be large where bills have gone unpaid for years
Leasehold chargesTransfer or unearned‑increase charges the lessor setsAsk the authority in writing before bidding
Legal and title searchYour lawyer’s feeWorth it before the EMD, not after
Repairs and delayRepair bills, plus interest on your money while the property is not usableOn ₹50 lakh at 8.5% a year, about ₹35,000 a month (an estimate)

Delhi’s rates are from its Revenue Department, and the TDS rule from section 194‑IA of the Income‑tax Act, 1961, which became section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, with section 393(2) for a non‑resident owner; the interest line is BiddingPulse’s arithmetic. Rates and fees change, so confirm each with the sub‑registrar or the body named before you act.

When stamp duty falls due depends on what you do with the sale certificate. It need not be registered: the authorised officer sends a copy to the sub‑registrar to be filed, and the Supreme Court has said that filing has the same effect as registration. The Kerala High Court has held that the filing alone attracts no duty, quoting the Supreme Court’s view that duty arises when the buyer presents the original for registration or uses it for some other purpose. Before you count on saving the duty, ask the sub‑registrar, and any lender, how they will treat the certificate. — per sections 17(2)(xii) and 89(4) of the Registration Act, 1908, the Supreme Court’s order of 11 November 2022 in SLP(C) No. 16949 of 2022, and the Kerala High Court’s judgment of 19 May 2025 in WP(C) No. 25722 of 2023, quoting the Supreme Court in State of Punjab v. Ferrous Alloy Forgings Pvt. Ltd. (2024).

When the property’s owner is resident in India, TDS applies unless both the price and the property’s stamp‑duty value are under ₹50 lakh, and it is 1% of whichever of the two is higher. It sits in section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, which replaced section 194‑IA of the 1961 Act, and is paid with Form 141; notices drafted under the old Act may quote section 194‑IA and Form 26QB, and some banks issue the sale certificate only once they see the challan. The form asks for the seller’s PAN, so ask the authorised officer which PAN to use, and how the bank wants the TDS shown, before you pay. — per section 194‑IA of the Income‑tax Act, 1961 (as amended by the Finance Act, 2022), section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, Form 141, the Income Tax Department’s FAQs on Form 141 and on the move to the 2025 Act, and HDFC Bank’s sale notice dated 04.02.2025.

When the owner is not resident in India, the 1% rule does not apply. Tax is deducted under section 393(2) of the same Act (table serial no. 17, which replaced section 195), at the rate that applies to the owner. A buyer who is a resident individual or Hindu undivided family (HUF) reports it in Schedule E of Form 141, with a PAN and without a tax deduction account number (TAN). Paying the price to a bank in India does not make the owner resident, so ask the authorised officer in writing whether the owner is resident before you work out the deduction, and have a chartered accountant check the figure. — per section 393(2) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025 and the Income Tax Department’s help page on Schedule E of Form 141.

GST is not charged on the sale of land or of a completed building. — per paragraph 5 of Schedule III to the Central Goods and Services Tax Act, 2017.

After the auction: sale certificate, registration and records

Once the bank has confirmed the sale and the full price is paid, the authorised officer issues a sale certificate in the form the rules prescribe. It is the buyer’s evidence of title from the sale, and it must say whether the property is sold free of the encumbrances the bank knows of. — per Rules 9(6) and 9(10) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Joint buyers should apply and bid together from the start: one bank’s notice issues the sale certificate only in the applicants’ names. — per HDFC Bank’s sale notice dated 04.02.2025.

From the winning bid to the keys
  1. The e‑auction closes with your bid highest.
  2. 25% of the price, counting the EMD, paid by the next working day.
  3. The bank confirms the sale.
  4. The balance paid within 15 days, or by the later date agreed in writing.
  5. TDS paid and the challan given to the bank: for an owner resident in India, 1% where the price or the stamp‑duty value is ₹50 lakh or more.
  6. The sale certificate issued; a copy filed with the sub‑registrar, or the certificate registered on payment of stamp duty.
  7. Municipal and revenue records updated to the new owner, and society membership.
  8. Possession handed over, after the magistrate route where the bank held only symbolic possession.

Restated from Rule 9 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and the lenders’ sale notices cited above.

Who can take part, including NRIs

Individuals and companies can register on the auction platforms, with a PAN, an email address and know-your-customer (KYC) documents. A notice can bar the borrower and guarantors from bidding, though many say nothing either way, so read the notice. — per IndusInd Bank’s sale notice dated 14.09.2026 and Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank’s sale notice dated 20.09.2025.

Non‑resident Indians (NRIs) and Overseas Citizens of India (OCIs) can acquire residential or commercial property in India, but not agricultural land, a farm house or plantation property. The money must come through banking channels, including NRE, FCNR(B) or NRO accounts, never by traveller’s cheque or foreign currency notes. Citizens of Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, China, Iran, Nepal, Bhutan, Macau, Hong Kong and North Korea need the Reserve Bank’s permission first, unless they hold OCI status. — per the Reserve Bank of India’s FAQ on acquisition of immovable property in India by NRIs and OCIs.

What to check before bidding

The checks above, gathered in one place. Each is the bidder’s to make: the bank does not make them for you.

Before you pay the EMD
  • The sale notice and full terms from the lender’s own website, matching the platform listing.
  • Possession: symbolic or physical, and who is living there.
  • The inspection, and the title deeds the bank holds.
  • A lawyer’s title search: the chain of deeds, an encumbrance certificate, CERSAI, and court and tribunal cases.
  • Written figures for electricity, water, property tax, society and any leasehold charges.
  • Any case or stay the notice discloses, and how many times the property has been offered.
  • Money ready: 25% of your top bid by the next working day, and the balance within 15 days unless extended in writing.
  • A loan sanctioned in principle, with the lender’s own title view.
  • Stamp duty and registration on top of the bid.
  • The owner’s tax residency, in writing from the bank. For an owner resident in India, TDS is 1% where the price or the stamp‑duty value is ₹50 lakh or more; a non‑resident owner’s sale follows other rules.
  • The authorised officer’s name and number, taken from the official notice.

Drawn from the SARFAESI Act, the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and the lenders’ sale notices cited above.

Bank auction terms, explained

SARFAESI Act

The Securitisation and Reconstruction of Financial Assets and Enforcement of Security Interest Act, 2002: the law that lets a secured lender take possession of its security and sell it without going to court. — per section 13 of the SARFAESI Act.

Authorised officer

The lender’s officer who takes possession and runs the sale; in a public sector bank, an officer not below a chief manager. — per Rule 2(a) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Non‑performing asset (NPA)

A loan the lender has classified as non-performing (substandard, doubtful or loss) under its regulator’s rules, usually once repayments are long overdue. A sale under the SARFAESI Act starts from that classification. — per sections 2(1)(o) and 13(2) of the SARFAESI Act.

Demand notice

The lender’s written notice asking the borrower to repay in full within 60 days, before it can take possession. — per section 13(2) of the SARFAESI Act.

Symbolic possession

Possession taken on paper: the lender puts up a possession notice on the property and publishes it, while the borrower, family or a tenant may still live there. — per section 13(4) of the SARFAESI Act and Rule 8 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Physical possession

The lender actually holds the property, sometimes after a magistrate’s order moving the occupants out. — per sections 13(4) and 14 of the SARFAESI Act.

Reserve price

Normally the lowest bid the lender will accept, fixed from an approved valuer’s valuation; the rules allow a sale below it only with the borrower’s and the lender’s consent. It is not a statement of what the property is worth. — per Rules 8(5) and 9(2) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Earnest money deposit (EMD)

The deposit a bidder pays before the auction, in the amount the sale notice sets. It counts toward the 25% due on a winning bid. — per Rule 9(3) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Sale notice

The notice of the auction: served on the borrower, published in two newspapers, put up on the property and uploaded with the full terms to the lender’s website, at least 30 days before a first sale, or 15 days before a repeat sale. — per Rules 8(6), 8(7) and 9(1) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

“As is where is”

Sale terms under which the buyer takes the property in its present physical and legal state, with its occupants, defects and dues, and has no claim against the lender later. They may not protect a lender that knew of a charge and did not disclose it. — per the sale notices cited in this guide and the Delhi High Court’s judgment of 8 September 2026 in W.P.⁠(C) 10860/2017.

Encumbrance

A claim on the property, such as a mortgage, a lease or an unpaid charge. The sale notice must disclose the encumbrances the lender knows of. — per Rule 8(7) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

CERSAI

The Central Registry of Securitisation Asset Reconstruction and Security Interest of India: the register of lenders’ security interests, which anyone can search for a fee. — per section 26 of the SARFAESI Act.

Debts Recovery Tribunal (DRT)

The tribunal, set up under the Recovery of Debts and Bankruptcy Act, 1993, that decides lenders’ recovery claims and hears a challenge to a lender’s steps under the SARFAESI Act from the borrower, a tenant or anyone else affected, on an application made within 45 days of the step challenged. Its orders can be appealed to the Debts Recovery Appellate Tribunal. — per sections 17 and 18 of the SARFAESI Act and section 3 of the Recovery of Debts and Bankruptcy Act, 1993.

Sale certificate

The certificate the authorised officer issues once the sale is confirmed and the full price is paid: the buyer’s evidence of title from the sale. — per Rules 9(6) and 9(10) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

BAANKNET

The common e‑auction platform of India’s public sector banks, run by PSB Alliance, a company those banks own. — per the Press Information Bureau release of 24 March 2025 and IBBI’s FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (21 July 2025).

TDS

Tax deducted at source. For an owner resident in India, the buyer deducts 1% of the price or the stamp‑duty value, whichever is higher, unless both are under ₹50 lakh, and pays it to the government under section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, formerly section 194‑IA. — per section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025 and section 194‑IA of the Income‑tax Act, 1961.

Common questions

Are bank auction properties safe?

They can be, but the protection comes from your own checks, not from the bank. Banks sell “as is where is”: no promise of vacant possession, clean title or a property free of dues beyond what the sale notice discloses. The usual problems are occupants who will not leave, a previous owner’s unpaid bills, title defects, and a sale later set aside because the bank broke a rule. — per Rules 8 and 9 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and the sale notices cited in this guide.

Are bank auction properties cheaper than the market?

Not reliably. The reserve price is a floor from a valuation, and competing bids can take the price to market level. Many auctions end without a sale: about 15% of the auctions held on BAANKNET between July 2024 and June 2025 were successful, as Business Standard reported. Compare the total cost, with stamp duty, dues, repairs and delay, not the reserve. — per Rule 8(5) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and Business Standard’s report of 26 July 2025.

What does “as is where is” mean in a bank auction?

The property is sold in its present physical and legal state, with whatever occupants, defects and dues come with it, and the buyer has no claim against the bank later. It may not protect a bank that knew of a charge and did not disclose it: the Delhi High Court has ordered a bank to pay a leasehold charge its sale notice had not mentioned. — per sale notices of State Bank of India (18.05.2026) and Axis Bank (09.06.2026, Bengaluru), and the Delhi High Court’s judgment of 8 September 2026 in W.P.⁠(C) 10860/2017.

What is the difference between symbolic and physical possession?

Symbolic possession means the bank has taken possession on paper, with a notice put up on the property and published in newspapers, while the borrower or a tenant may still live there. Physical possession means the bank holds the property. To move an occupant out, the bank needs a magistrate’s order under section 14, which the Act expects within 30 to 60 days but can take months. — per sections 13(4) and 14 of the SARFAESI Act and Rule 8 of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

Who pays the previous owner’s electricity, property tax and society dues?

Often the new owner. Sale notices put these dues on the successful bidder, and the Supreme Court has held that an electricity utility can make an auction buyer clear a previous owner’s arrears where its supply code provides for it. Get written figures from the utility, the municipality and the society before you bid. — per State Bank of India’s sale notice dated 18.05.2026 and the Supreme Court’s judgment of 19 May 2023 on electricity arrears after auction sales.

Can a tenant stay on after a bank auction?

Sometimes. A tenancy claim goes to the Debts Recovery Tribunal, which can test whether the tenancy has expired, breaks section 65A of the Transfer of Property Act or the mortgage terms, or was created after the bank’s demand notice. A lease of more than a year must also be registered. Ask who lives there, and on what papers, before you bid. — per section 17(4A) of the SARFAESI Act and section 17(1)(d) of the Registration Act, 1908.

Can the borrower get the property back after the auction?

Not by paying late. Since 2016 the borrower can pay up and stop the sale only until the sale notice is published, which the Supreme Court has read as the end of the notice’s 30‑day period. After that, the borrower can still ask the Debts Recovery Tribunal, within 45 days, to set the sale aside if the bank broke a mandatory rule. — per sections 13(8) and 17 of the SARFAESI Act and the Supreme Court’s judgment of 22 September 2025 in Civil Appeal No. 12174 of 2025 (2025 INSC 1144).

Can a bank auction sale be cancelled after the money is paid?

Yes, where the sale broke a mandatory rule, even years later. The Supreme Court has quashed a sale because the balance was paid after the 15‑day window without a written extension; the buyer got a refund with interest, not the property. It has also set aside a sale because the bank had received bids while a tribunal’s restraint order was in force; the order was lifted before the bids were opened, but that did not cure it, and the sale came before the 30‑day notice period had run. — per the Supreme Court’s judgments of 9 June 2026 (2026 INSC 633) and 30 September 2026 (2026 INSC 1071).

How much is paid upfront, and when is the balance due?

The EMD is paid before the auction, in the amount the notice sets, usually 10% of the reserve. If your bid is accepted, 25% of the price, counting the EMD, is due the same day or the next working day. The balance is due within 15 days of the bank confirming the sale, or by a later date of up to three months that the bank agrees in writing. — per Rules 9(3) and 9(4) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002.

What happens to the EMD if the bid does not succeed, or the balance is not paid?

A losing bidder gets the EMD back without interest, on the refund terms in the sale notice; on BAANKNET it returns to the bidder’s wallet. A successful bidder who misses the 25% deposit or the balance deadline forfeits the money paid, and the bank sells the property again. — per Rule 9(5) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and IBBI’s FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (21 July 2025).

Can I get a home loan for a bank auction property?

Many lenders finance auction properties, but the timing is tight. The EMD and the 25% deposit normally come from your own money, and the loan has to be sanctioned and paid out within the 15‑day balance window unless the bank agrees in writing to more time. The lender will make its own title and valuation checks, and a bank lends at most 75% to 90% of the property’s cost, depending on the size of the loan. — per Rule 9(4) of the Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 and the Reserve Bank of India (Commercial Banks – Credit Facilities) Directions, 2025.

Is stamp duty payable on a bank auction sale certificate?

It depends on how the certificate is used. A bank’s sale certificate need not be registered: a copy is filed with the sub‑registrar, and the Kerala High Court has held that the filing alone attracts no duty. Duty arises when the original is presented for registration or used for some other purpose, at your state’s rate, so ask the sub‑registrar and any lender before you count on saving it. — per sections 17(2)(xii) and 89(4) of the Registration Act, 1908, and the Kerala High Court’s judgment of 19 May 2025 in WP(C) No. 25722 of 2023, quoting the Supreme Court in State of Punjab v. Ferrous Alloy Forgings Pvt. Ltd. (2024).

Is TDS deducted on a bank auction property?

If the property’s owner is resident in India, yes, unless both the price and the property’s stamp‑duty value are under ₹50 lakh, or the property is agricultural land: the buyer deducts 1% of the higher of the two, pays it to the government and pays the bank the rest. The rule is in section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, which replaced section 194‑IA of the 1961 Act, and the tax is paid with Form 141; notices drafted under the old Act may cite section 194‑IA and Form 26QB. — per section 194‑IA of the Income‑tax Act, 1961 (as amended by the Finance Act, 2022), section 393(1) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025, the Income Tax Department’s FAQs on Form 141 and on the move to the 2025 Act, and HDFC Bank’s sale notice dated 04.02.2025.

If the owner is not resident in India, the 1% rule does not apply: tax is deducted under section 393(2) of the Act instead, at the rate that applies to the owner. Ask the bank in writing whether the owner is resident before you work out the deduction. — per section 393(2) of the Income‑tax Act, 2025 and the Income Tax Department’s help page on Schedule E of Form 141.

Can NRIs take part in bank auctions in India?

Yes. NRIs and OCIs can acquire residential or commercial property in India, though not agricultural land, a farm house or plantation property. Payment must come through banking channels, including NRE, FCNR(B) or NRO accounts, not traveller’s cheques or foreign currency notes, and the auction platform will ask for a PAN and KYC documents. — per the Reserve Bank of India’s FAQ on acquisition of immovable property by NRIs and OCIs.

What is BAANKNET, and does it list every bank auction?

No. BAANKNET is the e‑auction platform of India’s public sector banks, run by PSB Alliance, a company those banks own. Private banks, housing-finance companies and asset reconstruction companies usually auction on other platforms, named in each notice. — per the Press Information Bureau release of 24 March 2025, IBBI’s FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (21 July 2025) and the sale notices of IndusInd Bank (14.09.2026), India SME Asset Reconstruction Company (18.01.2026) and HUDCO (28.08.2026 auction).

Sources

Each statement drawn from a law, a rule, a judgment, an official record, or a lender’s own sale notice or publication is cited where the guide sets it out, beside the text or beneath its table, figure or diagram; the one figure from a news report says so. Lines without a citation are BiddingPulse’s own explanation, for general information. Most of these documents are linked below; a few are cited but not linked, some because their web address carries a private person’s name. Terms differ by lender, by state and by sale notice — always verify them in the notice for the property before you act.

  1. The SARFAESI Act, 2002 (India Code) 
  2. Security Interest (Enforcement) Rules, 2002 (Indian Kanoon) 
  3. Registration Act, 1908, section 17 (Indian Kanoon) 
  4. Registration Act, 1908, section 89(4) (Indian Kanoon) 
  5. Recovery of Debts and Bankruptcy Act, 1993 (Indian Kanoon) 
  6. Reserve Bank of India (Commercial Banks – Credit Facilities) Directions, 2025 
  7. Reserve Bank of India: FAQ on acquisition of immovable property in India by NRIs and OCIs 
  8. Income Tax Department: Form 141 
  9. Income Tax Department: FAQs on Form 141 
  10. Income Tax Department: Form 141 Schedule E, for an owner not resident in India 
  11. Income Tax Department: FAQs on the move from the 1961 Act to the 2025 Act 
  12. Delhi Revenue Department: stamp duty and registration fees 
  13. Press Information Bureau release of 24 March 2025 on BAANKNET 
  14. IBBI: FAQ on the BAANKNET portal (as on 21 July 2025) 
  15. MSTC: e‑Bikray page 
  16. CERSAI, the central register of security interests 
  17. eCourts: High Court case status 
  18. Supreme Court: ITC Ltd. v. Blue Coast Hotels Ltd., 19 March 2018 (Indian Kanoon) 
  19. Supreme Court: Celir LLP v. Bafna Motors (Mumbai) Pvt. Ltd., 21 September 2023 
  20. Supreme Court: order of 11 November 2022 in SLP(C) No. 16949 of 2022 (Indian Kanoon) 
  21. Supreme Court: National Spot Exchange Ltd. v. Union of India, 15 May 2025 (Indian Kanoon) 
  22. Supreme Court: judgment of 22 September 2025 in Civil Appeal No. 12174 of 2025, 2025 INSC 1144 
  23. Supreme Court: judgment of 20 November 2025 on provident fund dues (2025 INSC 1335) 
  24. Supreme Court: judgment of 30 September 2026 on a sale during a tribunal’s restraint order (2026 INSC 1071) 
  25. Delhi High Court: judgment of 8 September 2026 in W.P.⁠(C) 10860/2017 
  26. Bombay High Court: judgment of 21 March 2024 in WP No. 11733 of 2023 (Indian Kanoon) 
  27. Kerala High Court: judgment of 19 May 2025 in WP(C) No. 25722 of 2023 (Indian Kanoon) 
  28. Karnataka High Court: judgment of 19 July 2024 in WP No. 10383 of 2024 (Indian Kanoon) 
  29. Taxmann, 17 May 2026: the Madras High Court’s refund ruling, reported as [2026] 186 taxmann.com 144 
  30. State Bank of India: sale notice dated 18.05.2026 (Ahmedabad) 
  31. State Bank of India: sale notice dated 15.08.2026 (Thane) 
  32. Central Bank of India: sale terms for the 20 July 2026 auction 
  33. Central Bank of India: sale terms for the 12 March 2026 auction 
  34. IndusInd Bank: sale notice dated 14.09.2026 
  35. HDFC Bank: sale notice dated 04.02.2025 
  36. Gujarat Gramin Bank: sale notice dated 09.06.2026 
  37. Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank: sale notice dated 20.09.2025 
  38. India SME Asset Reconstruction Company: sale notice dated 18.01.2026 
  39. HUDCO: sale notice for the 28 August 2026 auction 
  40. Kotak Mahindra Bank: explainer on home loans for auctioned property 
  41. Business Standard, 26 July 2025: “Public sector banks’ property e‑auctions take a leap under BAANKNET” (a news report)